A strange experience

My own sighting

At roughly 17:40 (Continental European time) I had a somewhat weird experience.

I was driving a car not far from the French town of Yutz and a wood called „Hemmersholz“. (See the location here).

My father sat besides me. I was intrigued by the presence of a luminous thing which was apparently moving above a dark cloud at high speed. Its intensity wasn’t very strong.

I was expecting to soon see a plane ushering into the free sky at the end of the cloud. I was stunned as I saw that instead of this, the light went backward while following the same line. As I looked again in that direction several seconds later, I saw the light make another similar move.

The gleam moved back and forth several times on top of the cloud.

My own sighting that evening.

Afterwards, I was no longer able to see anything and had to focus on the traffic. The whole sighting lasted probably less than one minute. My father didn’t see the movements of the light but he made it out at one point.

I immediately thought I might have seen a moving beam directed towards the sky. But I can remember that it seemed brighter above the cloud rather than below it. So I don’t believe that this hypothesis is a plausible explanation. Still, this can’t be entirely ruled out.

Another possibility would be that of a helicopter. I doubt it due to its rectilinear (straight) trajectory and the swiftness with which it was able to change its direction (actually its turning around was almost instantaneous). What’s more, it is hard to imagine what motives a pilot might have had to fly back and forth several times.

A drone? Maybe. But the cloud wasn’t low so that I doubt it was being controlled by normal citizens having fun. Was it perhaps some sort of military experience?

At that point, I want to reassure my readers: I do NOT believe that what I saw was a starship populated by Grey aliens seeking to overtake my homeland (even though I think that their rule would be far better than that of the centralized French government which has killed our German dialect).

It is just a light I could not explain. I surmise there is a conventional explanation. It would be completely foolish to conclude from the very limited data that something truly anomalous happened.

I’d be thankful to anyone who think they might know what I saw.

To conclude, a conventional explanation of my sighting would be that:
1) someone directed a beam of light with a WEAK INTENSITY towards the cloud.
2) through some optical effects I got the impression it was brighter on the upper side.
3) hence I perceived it as if an object was moving on top of the cloud.

It was very short and consequently my memory isn’t very precise.

However, as far as I can tell, 2) seems to be wrong. It really looked like as if a luminous physical body was going back and forth above the cloud.

I tried to imagine how a light illuminating the lowest part of the cloud would look like. But this doesn’t fit what I saw.
The light moved at its highest part as if it was overflying it. Consequently I expected to see a plane emerge. I wouldn’t have had such an expectation had the lowest part been lit. The cloud wasn’t too thin.

In addition, as far as I can remember, the light didn’t leave the cloud but went immediately backward. It seems pretty unlikely that an automatic beam would do this. It appears kind of strange that people would do such a thing. Unless this was a hoax aimed at producing UFO sightings.

Addition: someone wrote to me

You are in a car in traffic looking through a windshield made of glass which is reflective of interior and exterior lights. You saw this briefly and your father did not for the most part. My suggestion is it may be a reflection and not an object.

I responded:

Hi. That’s an interesting suggestion I already considered.

The problem is that I saw that „reflection“ move back and forth several times whereas the car of my father went forward in a straight manner.
I don’t really know what kind of reflection could cause this effect. This doesn’t appear to be an internal light for I didn’t see anything after having left the spot.

What is more, the intensity of the light (which I only saw on the upper part of the cloud) was pretty weak. Clearly recognizable but dim. It really seemed to belong to the cloud.

I’d be thankful if you could give me other examples where such a thing occurred. This appears to me to be a pretty rare phenomenon. Still, I’m no optician and could be wrong about that.

 

A drone?


Some unknown individuals have been frightening the French government for months by flying drones over their nuclear plants.
These people seem to be very well organized and could not be identified nor could the drones be intercepted.
They did this only 15-20 km away from the place of the sighting one month ago.

They might very well dispose of the kind of drones which can fly at relatively high altitudes. It is an open question (at least from my perspective) whether or not the lights they can emit are compatible with the nearly rectangular pattern I observed.

Drone in a field guided by a man.

A remote controlled drone

IN THE END, I believe that the very short amount of information available here allows no conclusion to be drawn. I feel that my memory is already getting fuzzier and it will probably be worse in one week, let alone one month.

Still, I found it useful to report about it. I hope this could be an example of how one should relate to one’s own unusual experiences without falling into the trap of „easily believing“ and that of debunking.

Regularly updated Homepage

(List of all posts)

My other blog on progressive Christianity

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Allgemein veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Eine Antwort zu A strange experience

  1. lotharson schreibt:

    To conclude, a conventional explanation of my sighting would be that:
    1) someone directed a beam of light with a WEAK INTENSITY towards the cloud.
    2) through some optical effects I got the impression it was brighter on the upper side.
    3) hence I perceived it as if an object was moving on top of the cloud.

    It was very short and consequently my memory isn’t very precise.

    However, as far as I can tell, 2) seems to be wrong. It really looked like as if a luminous physical body was going back and forth above the cloud.

    Gefällt 1 Person

Kommentar verfassen

